• JBMR® Plus

    JBMR® Plus, published by the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, is a new international, open access peer-reviewed journal that will publish original research on all aspects of bone and musculoskeletal research.

    The journal is now accepting submissions!

    JBMR® Plus will publish original research, reviews, detailed protocols and methods, and special articles in basic, translational, and clinical science relevant to bone, musculoskeletal metabolism and regenerative medicine research. It will welcome research on osteoimmunology as well as research on fat, muscle, cartilage and kidney interactions with bone. Clinical studies, including trials and observational studies, and epidemiology and pharmacoepidemiology studies are encouraged. JBMR® Plus also welcomes manuscripts on orthopedics, stem cell therapies, specialized biomechanics protocols, novel imaging techniques and big data.

    As a sister Journal to ASBMR’s flagship subscription journal, the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research (JBMR®), JBMR® Plus will also be able to access a remarkable pool of experienced, expert reviewers who have made JBMR® the most highly regarded international Journal in bone and mineral research. Such support allows us to make JBMR® Plus a rapidly responsive and innovative home for new discoveries that will ultimately improve global musculoskeletal health.

    All articles in JBMR® Plus will be published under the Creative Commons (CC-BY and CC-BY-NC-ND) licenses on Wiley Online Library. Authors with open access mandates from funders will be fully compliant when publishing with this journal.

    JBMR® Plus aims to accelerate the research into bone biology that has underpinned the recent innovative and targeted therapeutic advances in bone and mineral and musculoskeletal research. The NIH-mandated needs for reproducibility and excellence in study design, as well as those for open access, will also be well served by JBMR® Plus,” said Peter Ebeling, Editor-in-Chief.



    Peter Ebeling, A.O., M.D., M.B.B.S., FRACP
    Melbourne, Australia

    Professor Peter Ebeling is Head of the Department of Medicine in the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. He was also inaugural Director of the Australian Institute of Musculoskeletal Science (AIMSS).

    Professor Ebeling is Medical Director of Osteoporosis Australia; Board Member, International Osteoporosis Foundation; past-President, Endocrine Society of Australia; past-President of the Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society (ANZBMS); and Councilor, American Society of Bone and Mineral Research. He was on the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) (2009-2014) and now serves on the NHMRC Research Committee (2015-2018).

    In 2015, Professor Ebeling was made an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) for his distinguished service to medicine in the field of bone health, through academic contributions and research initiatives in a range of administrative, executive and professional roles.


    Deputy Editors

    Teresita Bellido, Ph.D.
    Indiana, USA

    Dr. Teresita Bellido is a Professor in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology and the Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, at Indiana University School of Medicine; and a scientific investigator at the Roudebush VA Medical Center in Indianapolis. Her research on bone biology and pathophysiology receives funding from the NIH, the VA, the U.S. Department of Defense, and other sources since 1996. Dr. Bellido was awarded the 2015 ASBMR Paula Stern Achievement Award for significant scientific achievements and for promoting the professional development and advancement of women in the field.

    Bo Abrahamsen, M.D., Ph.D.
    Copenhagen, Denmark

    Dr. Bo Abrahamsen is Professor of Clinical Database Studies and Consultant Endocrinologist, University of Southern Denmark and Department of Medicine, Holbaek Hospital, Denmark. Dr. Abrahamsen treats patients with osteoporosis and metabolic bone diseases. He was the lead researcher for the DIPART vitamin D collaborative study and is a member of the Committee of Scientific Advisors to the International Osteoporosis Foundation and the Council of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research. He was awarded the 2011 ECTS/ASBMR Clinical Debate Golden Femur Award.