• News

    ASBMR Testimony and Participation at June 30 Forum on Anabolic Therapies for Osteoporosis in Postmenopausal Women: Effectiveness and Value – Live Webcast Available

    Date: June 29, 2017

    ASBMR Professional Practice Committee Chair, Benjamin Leder, MD, will testify at a public meeting of the California Technology Assessment Forum (CTAF), a core program of the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review (ICER), on June 30 to discuss concerns about a new report on the comparative effectiveness and value of anabolic therapies for osteoporosis in postmenopausal women. Other ASBMR members testifying or participating in a Policy Roundtable discussion include Stuart L. Silverman, MD, FACP, FACR, Matthew Drake, MD, PhD, and Robin K. Dore, MD.

    ICER’s report includes a systematic review of the published evidence as well as an economic analysis that examines the cost-effectiveness and budget impact of anabolic therapies for osteoporosis. The report will form the basis for deliberation and discussion at the public meeting, where the CTAF panel will vote on key questions raised in the reports, and a policy roundtable will discuss evidence-based practice and policy recommendations. The final ICER report will be released on July 14.

    The meeting will be available for viewing via public webcast from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM PDT (1:00 PM to 7:00 PM EDT) and Dr. Leder’s testimony is scheduled to begin at 11:40 am PDT (2:40 pm EDT). To register for the webcast click here.