Type Size

    The Science Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) ensures the integrity and quality of the science that is presented in the ASBMR Education Resource Center.

    JBMR Dec

    Joseph Lorenzo, M.D., Chair

    Dr. Lorenzo is currently Professor of Medicine and Orthopedics and Director of Bone Biology Research at the University of Connecticut Health Center, Farmington, Connecticut, USA. His research involves studies of the factors affecting bone resorption and the interactions of bone and immune cells. He is currently Scientific Web Editor for the ASBMR and has previously been an ASBMR Council Member and Chair of the Search Committees for the editors of both the JBMR® and the Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism. He has served on numerous grant review study sections and editorial boards of scientific journals and he is a founding member of the organizing committees of the International Conference on Osteoimmunology.

    JBMR Dec

    Peter R. Ebeling, MBBS, M.D., FRACP

    Professor Ebeling is Chair, NorthWest Academic Centre and Assistant Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, The University of Melbourne, and Head of Endocrinology, at Western Health, Victoria, Australia. He is also Director of the Australian Institute of Musculoskeletal Science (AIMSS), located in the Western Centre for Health Research and Education, Sunshine Hospital, Western Health, Victoria, Australia. His research interests include musculoskeletal health and diseases; public health aspects of vitamin D; post-transplantation osteoporosis; osteoporosis in men; and biochemical bone turnover markers. Dr. Ebeling has served JBMR® as both a member of the editorial board and an Associate Editor. He also serves on the editorial boards of Osteoporosis International and Clinical Endocrinology. He is Medical Director of Osteoporosis Australia; a board member of the International Osteoporosis Foundation; President of the Endocrine Society of Australia; past-President of the Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society; and Councilor for the ASBMR—only the third Australian to be elected. He is also a current member of the National Health and Medical Research Council Academy. Professor Ebeling has more than 200 articles published in peer-reviewed publications, including in the New England Journal of Medicine, PNAS (USA) and Science. He also teaches and mentors medical students, and supervises a number of Research Higher Degree students and three advanced physician trainees in Endocrinology.

    JBMR Dec

    Philip A. Osdoby, Ph.D.

    Dr. Osdoby is Professor, Department of Biology at Washington University in St. Louis in Missouri, USA. His research is focused on the cellular, molecular and biochemical analyses of bone cell interactions and development; the role of chemokines in normal or pathological bone processes; interactions among vascular, immune, MSCs and bone cells in skeletal physiology, and recently, on the cellular mechanisms associated with bone loss and fragility in osteogenesis imperfecta. Dr. Osdoby has served in numerous roles for ASBMR, including as a Councilor, Annual Meeting Scientific Program Co-Chair, Chair of the Science Policy and the Publications committees, ASBMR representative to the USBJD Board of Directors and a member to several ASBMR task forces and work groups, most recently the Work Group on Clinician Education and Outreach. In addition, he has been active in the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB), having served as Chair of both the FASEB Science Policy Committee and Subcommittee on Training and Careers.

    JBMR Dec

    Elizabeth Shane, M.D.

    Elizabeth Shane, M.D., is Professor of Medicine, Vice Chair of Medicine for Clinical and Epidemiological Research at Columbia University, College of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City, USA. She received her M.D. from the University of Toronto and completed her medical residency and training in Endocrinology and Metabolism at the College of Physicians and Surgeons and the Presbyterian Hospital in New York. Her research interests include transplantation osteoporosis, premenopausal osteoporosis, bone disease associated with HIV/AIDS, renal bone disease, bone loss due to medications and gastrointestinal diseases, and the use of high-resolution imaging to investigate the effects of various drugs and diseases on bone quality and strength. Dr. Shane has served on the editorial boards of JBMR®  and Bone, was Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, Associate Editor of the first six editions of the Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism, and is currently Associate Editor of the JBMR®. Dr. Shane is past President of the ASBMR and has served on the FASEB Board of Directors. She has served as chair or co-chair of three ASBMR Task Forces on Ethics in Publishing, Osteonecrosis of the Jaw and Atypical Femur Fractures. She currently serves on the Advisory Council for the National Institute of Arthritis, Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS).

    JBMR Dec

    Rajesh Thakker, M.D., FRCP

    Rajesh Thakker is the May Professor of Medicine at the University of Oxford, and a Fellow of Somerville and Harris Manchester Colleges, Oxford, England. He was previously Professor of Medicine at The Royal Postgraduate Medical School, The Hammersmith Hospital, London. He has served on the Medical Research Council (MRC) Physiological Medicine and Infections Grants Committee, the MRC Clinical Training and Career Development Panel, the MRC Physiological Medicine and Infections Board, as Secretary to the Forum on Academic Medicine for the Royal College of Physicians (UK) and the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, and on the Council for the Society for Endocrinology. His main research interests include the molecular basis of disorders of calcium homeostasis. He is currently Chairman of the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) / MRC Efficacy and Mechanisms Evaluations (EME) Board. He has been the recipient of many prizes, including the ASBMR Young Investigator Award, Raymond-Horton Smith Prize (Cambridge University, UK), Society for Endocrinology Medal (UK), European Journal of Endocrinology Prize (EFES), Graham Bull Prize from the Royal College of Physicians (UK), Parathyroid Medal from the Fondazione Raffaella Becagli (F.I.R.M.O.), Jack W. Coburn Endowed Lectureship from the American Society of Nephrology, and ASBMR Louis V Avioli Founder’s Award.