• Council Overview

    Type Size

    The Council (also referred to as Board of Directors) consists of thirteen persons elected by the membership: nine Councilors and the President, the Past-President, the President-Elect, and the Secretary-Treasurer. The JBMR® and JMBR Plus Editors-in-Chief  also sit on Council as an ex-officio non-voting members during his or her five year term.

    The Council meets three times a year. The regular annual meeting of the Council is held immediately preceding and in the same location as the annual scientific meeting. An Interim Council Meeting is typically held twice a year in late winter and early summer.

    ASBMR Executive Committee

    Jane Cauley, DrPh
    University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health, USA

    Michael Econs, M.D.
    Indiana University School of Medicine, USA

    Douglas P. Kiel, M.D., M.P.H.
    Harvard Medical School and Hebrew SeniorLife, USA


    Thomas L. Clemens, Ph.D.
    Johns Hopkins University, USA

    ASBMR Council 

    Bo Abrahamsen, M.D., Ph.D.
    University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

    Mary Bouxsein, Ph.D.
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, USA 

    Laura Calvi, M.D.
    University of Rochester School of Medicine, USA

    Lorenz Hofbauer, M.D.
    TU Dresden University Medical Center, Germany 

    Suzanne Jan De Beur, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins University, USA

    Stavroula Kousteni, Ph.D.
    Columbia University Medical Center, USA 

    Ernestina Schipani, M.D., Ph.D.
    University of Michigan, USA

    Johannes Van Leeuwen, Ph.D.

    Erasmus University Medical Center, The Netherlands

    Andre J. Van Wijnen, Ph.D.

    Mayo Clinic, USA

    Juliet Compston, M.D., FRCP, Ex-Officio
    University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine, United Kingdom 

    Peter Ebeling, AO, M.D., FRACP, Ex-Officio
    Monash University, School of Clinical Sciences, Australia

    See a list of Past Officers of the Council