

FOR RELEASE: October 12, 2012 Media Contact: Doug Fesler
202-367-1161
dfesler@asbmr.org

## **ASBMR Announces 2012 Esteemed Awards Recipients**

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Society of Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) has selected the 2012 recipients of its prestigious Esteemed Awards designed to honor distinguished scientists for their contributions to both the bone field and the Society.

"Each year, our Society takes time to review, honor and celebrate the notable achievements of our esteemed members. It is a tradition that instills pride and promotes excellence in science and mentoring for us all." commented, Keith Hruska, M.D., ASBMR president.

Receiving the Society's oldest and most prestigious award, **The William F. Neuman Award** for outstanding and major scientific contributions in bone and mineral research and for contributions to associates and trainees in teaching, research and administration, is **Sundeep Khosla, M.D.** Dr. Khosla is the Dr. Francis Drucker and Nathan Landow Research Professor and Distinguished Investigator at the Mayo Clinic. His research interests include mechanisms of age-related bone loss and sex steroid regulation of bone metabolism.

The **Louis V. Avioli Founders Award**, honoring fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research, is being presented to **J. Wesley Pike, Ph.D.** Dr. Pike is Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His long-term research interest has been the interactions of vitamin D and his recent interest is in the molecular actions of the sex steroids.

Honoring a record of outstanding achievements in preclinical translational research in the field, the **Lawrence G. Raisz Award** is being awarded to **Ernesto Canalis, M.D.** Dr. Canalis is Professor of Medicine and Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine and Director of Research at St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center, where his laboratory discovered the existence of skeletal growth factors and pursued important investigations on their role in skeletal functions. His recent work centers on factors determining cell fate and the role of Notch in cell differentiation.

Being presented this year's **Frederic C. Bartter Award** in recognition of outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism is **Michael J. Econs, M.D.** Dr. Econs is Professor of medicine and Medical and Molecular Genetics and Division Director of Endocrinology at Indiana School of Medicine. His primary area of interest is the genetics aspects of metabolic bone diseases.

Receiving the **Paula Stern Achievement Award** recognizing a woman who has made significant scientific achievements and who has promoted the professional development/advancement of woman in the field is **Theresa A. Guise, M.D.** Dr. Guise is

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology and Jerry W. and Peg S. Throgmartin Professor of Oncology in the Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology at Indiana University. Her research interests include the effect of cancer and cancer treatment on the musculoskeletal system.

The **Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award**, recognizing outstanding support provided by a senior scientist who has helped promote the independent careers of young investigators in bone and mineral metabolism, is being awarded to **Steven Teitelbaum**, **M.D.** Dr. Teitelbaum is the Wilma and Roswell Messing Professor of Pathology and Immunology and Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine, where he is a member of the Division of Bone and Mineral Diseases. His research focuses on the osteoclast and he has trained more than 70 graduate and post-doctoral fellows, many who have become leaders in the field and hold distinguished academic and industrial positions.

The **Fuller Albright Award** given in recognition of meritorious scientific accomplishments in the bone and mineral field to an ASBMR member that has not yet reached the age of 45 by July 1 of the year the award is presented is being awarded to **Laura Calvi, M.D.** Dr. Calvi is the endocrinologist co-director of the University of Rochester Multidisciplinary Neuroendcrinology Clinic. Her research is in cellular and molecular mechanisms of microenvironmental regulation of hematopoietic stem cells in the bone marrow.

Being presented the **Shirley Hohl Service Award**, recognizing members of the Society who make significant contributions to the mission of ASBMR is **Janine Danks**, **Ph.D.** Dr. Danks is based in the School of Medical Sciences at RMIT University of Melbourne, Australia. She is recognized as an expert in the field of calcium regulating hormones. She has been the Chair of the Society's Women in Bone and Mineral Research Committee since 2008 and instigated the creation of the Paula Stern Achievement Award in 2010 and the Phoebe Leboy Development Award in 2012, which honor the achievements of women at the mid- and early- career stages.

The ASBMR Esteemed Awards and the **Early Career Excellence in Teaching** will be presented **Robert Pignolo, M.D., Ph.D.** for the University of Pennsylvania at the ASBMR 2013 Annual Meeting, October 12-15, in Minneapolis, MN.

## About ASBMR

The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is the leading professional, scientific and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of bone and mineral metabolism. ASBMR encourages and promotes the study of this expanding field through annual scientific meetings, an official journal (*Journal of Bone and Mineral Research*), the Primer on Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism, advocacy and interaction with government agencies and related societies. To learn more about upcoming meetings and publications, please visit www.asbmr.org.