Type Size

    ASBMR Harold M. Frost Young Investigator Award

    HM Frost

    This program is intended to stimulate young investigator participation in the Sun Valley Meeting by providing the opportunity for presentation of their research.

    Harold Frost’s ideas transformed the face of skeletal biology and orthopedic science and he is regarded by many as being the most influential theoretician in skeletal biology of the 20th century. Harold Frost developed the process of quantitative bone histomorphometry, discovered the intermediary organization of bone and shed theoretical insights into the adaptation of bone to mechanical forces and hormones. In addition to Harold Frost's many scientific accomplishments, he was an active participant in the ORS International Sun Valley Workshop on Musculoskeletal Biology, an annual meeting that emphasizes interaction between young investigators and senior investigators. His participation in the workshop influenced many young scientists. The award was established in Dr. Frost’s honor.


    To be eligible, an applicant must meet a minimum requirement of 2 years within a post-doctoral fellowship or residency, ranging through an assistant professorship with a maximum of 2 years as of September 1, 2016Note: ASBMR Harold M. Frost Young Investigator Awards are open to ASBMR members and nonmembers.


    Nine awards of $1,500 each are available, based on competitive application. The young investigators who receive Harold Frost Awards are required to present their research at the ORS 46th International Sun Valley Workshop on Musculoskeletal Biology held August 7-10, 2016 in Sun Valley, Idaho, USA.

    For more information on the workshop, please visit the ORS Sun Valley Workshop website.

    Note: The award covers the meeting registration fee, but recipients are expected to make their own arrangements for travel and accommodations.

    Abstract Submission

    The character limit is 2500, which includes all letters and spaces within the text of your abstract. Tables and graphics are not included in this character limit.

    Submissions will start being accepted Monday, March 21, 2016.

    The 2016 submission deadline has passed.

    Past ASBMR Harold M. Frost Young Investigator Award Winners