Type Size

    William F. Neuman Award

    The William F. Neuman Award is the ASBMR's oldest and most prestigious award. It recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding and major scientific contributions in the area of bone and mineral research and for contributions to associates and trainees in teaching, research, and administration. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a morning plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    William F. Neuman, Ph.D., was a world-renowned scientist in the field of mineral metabolism. His seminal work on bone-seeking isotopes as part of the Manhattan Project was followed by major works in the chemistry of mineral and matrix, the function of bone cells, the metabolism of parathyroid hormone, and the concept of bone membrane. Dr. Neuman, along with his wife Margaret, authored the seminal monograph "The Chemical Dynamics of Bone Mineral" in 1958. He and his associates formed the Department of Radiation Biology and Biophysics at Rochester, where he served as co-chair and then chairman.

    Past Awardees

    Clifford Rosen, M.D. 2016
    Lynda F. Bonewald, Ph.D. 2015
    Francis Glorieux, M.D., Ph.D. 2014
    John Eisman, MBBS, Ph.D. 2013
    Sundeep Khosla, M.D. 2012
    Gerard Karsenty, M.D., Ph.D. 2011
    A. Michael Parfitt, M.D. 2010
    Roland Baron, DDS, Ph.D. 2009
    David Baylink, M.D. 2008
    Lance E. Lanyon, Ph.D., BVSc 2007
    Jane Lian, Ph.D., and Gary Stein, Ph.D. 2006
    Mark R. Haussler, Ph.D. 2005
    Jane E. Aubin, Ph.D. 2004
    Henry Kronenberg, M.D. 2003
    B. Lawrence Riggs, M.D. 2002
    Harold M. Frost, M.D. 2001
    R. Graham Russell, M.D. 2000
    Gregory R. Mundy, M.D. 1999
    Steven L. Teitelbaum, M.D. 1998
    Tatsuo Suda, D.D.Sc., Ph.D. 1997
    Melvin Jacob Glimcher, M.D. 1996
    Anthony W. Norman, Ph.D. 1995
    Thomas John Martin, M.D., D.Sc. 1994
    Gideon A. Rodan, M.D., Ph.D. 1993
    Herbert A. Fleisch, M.D. 1992
    Claude D. Arnaud, M.D. 1991
    Robert H. Wasserman, Ph.D. 1990
    Stephen M. Krane, M.D. 1989
    Louis V. Avioli, M.D. 1988
    John T. Potts, Jr., M.D. 1987
    Lawrence G. Raisz, M.D. 1986
    Hector F. DeLuca, Ph.D. 1985
    Roy V. Talmage, Ph.D. 1984
    D. Harold Copp, M.D., Ph.D. 1983
    Paul L. Munson, Ph.D. 1982
    Gerald D. Aurbach, M.D. 1981