Type Size

    Shirley Hohl Service Award

    The Shirley Hohl Service Award is given to an individual whose activities best represent the dedicated and unselfish devotion in service to the Society and its mission and goals as exemplified by Shirley Hohl, the ASBMR's founding Executive Secretary. This award is given to an individual who is recognized by members of the Society as having made significant contributions to the mission of the ASBMR. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque in the morning prior to the start of the scientific sessions during the Annual Meeting.

    Shirley Hohl worked with the ASBMR from its inception, serving first as Executive Secretary, then as Consultant. She maintained the latter position until her death in 1996. Her presence markedly influenced the development of the Society and her contributions were fundamental to establishing the infrastructure of the Society and its success.

    Past Awardees

    Robert A. Adler, M.D. 2016
    Suzanne M. Jan De Beur, M.D. 2015
    Keith Hruska, M.D. 2014
    Janine Danks, Ph.D. 2012
    Joan A. McGowan, Ph.D. 2011
    Robert Nissenson, Ph.D. 2010
    Elizabeth Shane, M.D. 2008
    Philip A. Osdoby, Ph.D. 2007
    Paula Stern, Ph.D. 2006
    Julie Glowacki, Ph.D. 2005
    Jane Lian, Ph.D. 2004
    Marc K. Drezner, M.D. 2003
    Nicola Partridge, Ph.D. 2002
    Lawrence G. Raisz, M.D. 2001
    Arnold J. Kahn, Ph.D. 2000
    Murray J. Favus, M.D. 1999
    Norman H. Bell, M.D. 1998
    Louis V. Avioli, M.D. 1997