Type Size

    Louis V. Avioli Founders Award

    The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award was first presented at the 2000 ASBMR Annual Meeting in Toronto, Canada. This award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research. There is also a memorial lecture named in his honor at the ASBMR Annual Meeting. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented after the Louis V. Avioli Memorial Lecture at the Annual Meeting.

    Louis V. Avioli, M.D., ASBMR's first President, was one of the world's leading medical authorities on osteoporosis and calcium metabolism. He pioneered research into the skeleton and methods for detecting vitamin D in the blood, and identified bone loss as a potentially curable condition. Louis Avioli was a founding member of ASBMR. His research, like his commitment to the ASBMR, mentorship and friendship, has had a profound impact on the field. There is also a memorial lecture named in Louis Avioli's honor at the ASBMR Annual Meeting.

    Past Awardees

    Daniel Bikle, M.D., Ph.D. 2016
    Paula Stern, Ph.D. 2015
    Michael Holick, M.D., Ph.D. 2014
    Thomas Clemens, Ph.D. 2013
    J. Wesley Pike, Ph.D. 2012
    Roberto Pacifici, M.D. 2011
    Pierre Marie, Ph.D. 2010
    Rajesh Thakker, M.D., FRCP 2009
    Rajiv Kumar, M.D. 2008
    G. David Roodman, M.D., Ph.D. 2007
    Andrew Arnold, M.D. 2006
    Gino Segre, M.D. 2005
    Ernesto Canalis, M.D. 2004
    Edward Brown, M.D. 2003
    Roland Baron, D.D.S., Ph.D. 2002
    Gerard Karsenty, M.D., Ph.D. 2001
    Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D. 2000