Type Size

    Frederic C. Bartter Award

    The Frederic C. Bartter Award is given to an ASBMR member in recognition of outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a morning plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    Frederic C. Bartter, M.D., was one of the finest scientists and clinical investigators in academic medicine. In conjunction with Dr. Fuller Albright he developed cortisone treatment for congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and with Dr. William Schwartz described the syndrome of inappropriate ADII secretion. In addition, Dr. Bartter elucidated the role of aldosterone and contributed significantly to the study of hyperparathyroidism. From 1951 to 1978 he served as Chief of the NIH Endocrine-Hypertension Branch, and then became Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Veterans Administration Medical Center and Professor at the University of Texas.

    Past Awardees

    Eric Orwoll, M.D. 2016
    Socrates Papapoulos, M.D. 2015
    Richard Eastell, M.D., FRCP 2014
    Elizabeth Shane, M.D. 2013
    Michael Econs, M.D. 2012
    Jane Cauley, Ph.D. 2011
    Ian Reid, M.D., MBChB 2010
    Juliet Compston, M.D., FRCP 2009
    Steven Cummings, M.D., FACP 2008
    Michael P. Whyte, M.D. 2007
    Sundeep Khosla, M.D. 2006
    John Kanis, M.D. 2005
    Pierre Delmas, M.D., Ph.D. 2004
    Robert Recker, M.D. 2003
    Ego Seeman, M.D., F.R.A.C.P. 2002
    L. Joseph Melton, III, M.D. 2001
    John P. Bilezikian, M.D. 2000
    Pierre Meunier, M.D. 1999
    B.E. Christopher Nordin, M.D., Ph.D. 1998
    Robert Lindsay, MBChB, Ph.D. 1997
    C. Conrad Johnston, Jr., M.D. 1996
    A. Michael Parfitt, M.D. 1995
    Robert P. Heaney, M.D. 1994
    Francis H. Glorieux, M.D., Ph.D. 1993
    Norman H. Bell, M.D. 1992
    Eduardo Slatopolsky, M.D. 1991
    B. Lawrence Riggs, M.D. 1990
    Arthur E. Broadus, M.D., Ph.D. 1989
    Charles Y.C. Pak, M.D. 1988
    Constantine Anast, M.D. 1987
    Jack Coburn, M.D. 1986