• News

    FREE WEBINAR: Atypical Femur Fractures: Addressing the Problem from a Patient-Centered Perspective

    Date: December 22, 2016

     

    Wednesday, January 18, 2017
    11am-12pm EST (8-9am PST; 5-6pm CET)

    Osteoporotic fractures lead to substantial morbidity, mortality, and socioeconomic impact. For example, hip fractures are associated with an approximate 25% one-year mortality and lead to 65,000 deaths each year in the United Stated alone, and over half of the patients who experience hip fractures are permanently incapacitated. Despite these devastating consequences of hip and other osteoporotic fractures, rates of pharmacological treatment, even in patients at high fracture risk, are declining. As highlighted by an article by Gina Kolata in the New York Times, part of the reason for this decline is patient and physician concerns about potential side-effects related to bisphosphonate therapy, particularly for atypical femur fractures (AFFs).

    In this webinar, Dr. Sundeep Khosla (Mayo Clinic), Dr. Deborah Gold (Duke University), Dr. Malachi J. McKenna (University College Dublin), and Dr. Elizabeth Shane (Columbia University) will discuss the scope of the problem of AFFs, the benefits versus risks of pharmacological treatment of osteoporosis, and most importantly, approaches to mitigate the risks of AFF. Critical to this effort is building patient trust and engagement, and potential approaches to this important goal will also be reviewed.
     
    Dr. Khosla and our panel of bone researchers will answer questions from attendees so be sure to attend the live event to get answers from the experts!

    Free registration is here