ASBMR e-News Weekly

ASBMR Banner

ASBMR Updates & Announcements


The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is pleased to announce our newly appointed editors for the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research (JBMR) and our soon to be launched open access journal, JBMR Plus.

Roberto Civitelli, M.D. Appointed Editor-in-Chief of the JBMR, 2018-2022

Dr. Roberto Civitelli has been appointed as the sixth Editor-in-Chief of our Society’s official publication, the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research (JBMR), to succeed current Editor-in-Chief Dr. Juliet Compston beginning in 2018. Dr. Civitelli currently serves as Chief of the Division of Bone and Mineral Diseases, Department of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri, USA. He also serves as the Director of the Skeletal Disorders Training Program and as one of the co-Directors of the Musculoskeletal Research Center at Washington University. Dr. Civitelli served on the ASBMR Council from 2006 to 2009 and was elected President of the ASBMR in 2013. He has served on the JBMR Editorial Board from 1994 to 2013 as well as the editorial boards for the Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine and the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. He served as Editor of Calcified Tissue International from 2000 to 2013. He received the ASBMR Fuller Albright Young Investigator Award in 1994 and was named Sydney M. and Stella H. Schoenberg Chair in Medicine in 2003.

Peter Ebeling, AO Appointed Editor-in Chief of JBMR Plus, 2017-2021

As was announced earlier this year, the Society is launching a new online open access journal, JBMR Plus, next year. The newly appointed Editor-in Chief for JBMR Plus is Dr. Peter Ebeling. Dr. Ebeling currently serves as Professor and Head of the Department of Medicine for the Monash University School of Clinical Sciences and Chair of the Division of Medicine for Monash Health. Dr. Ebeling is also the Honorary Professor of Medicine of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne and was the inaugural Director of the Australian Institute of Musculoskeletal Science. Dr. Ebeling has held numerous leadership roles with scientific societies, including serving on the ASBMR Council from 2011 to 2014, Co-Chair of the ASBMR 2009 Annual Meeting Program Committee and on the ASBMR 2015 Annual Meeting Program Advisory Committee. He has served as Associate Editor of JBMR and on the Editorial Boards of Osteoporosis International, Clinical Endocrinology and Bone, and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Bone Reports.

Congratulations to both Dr. Civitelli and Dr. Ebeling on their appointments.

The publisher of JBMR invites you to learn about the Journal Author Promotion Toolkit which can help authors maximize the impact of published research through email, social media/networking, conferences, multimedia, and much more! Click to read about seven promotional tools that can help ensure your work gets seen, read, and cited.

ASBMR is now accepting applications for the 2016 John Haddad Young Investigator Award. The purpose of this program is to facilitate the professional development of young basic and clinical scientists in the field of bone and mineral metabolism. A total of 10 young investigators will be selected to receive awards and present their research at the AIMM-ASBMR Meeting. Successful applicants are expected to participate in the entire AIMM Meeting from April 4-8, 2017, in Snowmass, Colorado, U.S. The deadline to apply is Monday, October 17, 2016. Please click here for more information and to apply.

The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation is seeking pre-proposals from junior physician-scientist faculty conducting clinical research in any disease area. Competitive applicants are expected to have research experience and publication records consistent with the rank of assistant professor.

The Clinical Scientist Development Award does not require institutional nomination. This competition employs a two-stage process: Pre-proposals will be reviewed and up to 50 applicants will be invited to submit a full proposal.

Pre-proposals are due November 29, 2016. For complete details, visit the Clinical Scientist Development Award web page

JBMR® Highlights

PTHrP-derived Peptides Restore Bone Mass and Strength in Diabetic Mice: Additive Effect of Mechanical Loading
Marta Maycas, Kevin A McAndrews, Amy Y Sato, Gretel G Pellegrini, Drew M Brown, Matthew R Allen, Lilian I Plotkin, Arancha R Gortazar, Pedro Esbrit, Teresita Bellido
Accepted manuscript online: 28 September 2016

Current Physical Activity Is Independently Associated with Cortical Bone Size and Bone Strength in Elderly Swedish Women
Martin Nilsson RPT, PhD, Daniel Sundh MSc Pharm, Dan Mellström MD, PhD, Mattias Lorentzon MD, PhD
Accepted manuscript online: 27 September 2016

Synovium-derived MicroRNAs Regulate Bone Pathways in Rheumatoid Arthritis
Yukiko Maeda Ph.D., Nicholas H. Farina Ph.D., Melissa M. Matzelle Ph.D., Paul J. Fanning Ph.D., Jane B. Lian Ph.D., Ellen M. Gravallese M.D.
Accepted manuscript online: 27 September 2016

Bone Science in the News

Men Get Osteoporosis, Too
New York Times (10/03/2016)

Are Your Child’s Bones Strong Enough?
The Wall Street Journal (10/03/2016)

New Ways Doctors Treat Bone Fractures in Children
MarketWatch (10/03/2016)

Logo The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
2025 M Street, NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC, USA 20036-2209 USA
Phone: +1(202)367 -1161 Fax: +1(202)367-2161


October 6, 2016