• News

    Congratulations to this Year’s Annual Meeting Award Winners!

    Date: October 17, 2012

    ASBMR would like to congratulate and recognize all of this year’s Annual Meeting Young Investigator Award recipients and Esteemed Award recipients.


    Esteemed Awards


    Esteemed Awards are given to outstanding members of the society who have made significant contributions to an area of bone research specified below. Awards were presented during the 2012 Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, October 12-15, 2012.

    William F. Neuman Award


    Sundeep Khosla, M.D.

    College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, MN, USA

    The William F. Neuman Award recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding and major scientific contributions in the area of bone and mineral research and for contributions to associates and trainees in teaching, research, and administration.

    Louis V. Avioli Award

    J. Wesley Pike, Ph.D.

    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Madison, WI, USA

    The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research.

    Frederic C. Bartter Award

    Michael Econs, M.D.

    Indiana University School of Medicine
    Indianapolis, IN, USA

    The Frederic C. Bartter Award is given to an ASBMR member in recognition of outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism.

    Fuller Albright Award

    Laura Calvi, M.D.

    University of Rochester School of Medicine
    Rochester, NY, USA

    The Fuller Albright Award is given in recognition of meritorious scientific accomplishment in the bone and mineral field to an ASBMR member who has not yet reached his or her 45th birthday before July 1 of the year the award is presented.

    Gideon A. Rodan Award


    Steven Teitelbaum, M.D.

    Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, MO, USA

    The Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award is given in recognition of outstanding support provided by a senior scientist who has helped promote the independent careers of young investigators in bone and mineral metabolism.

    Lawrence G. Raisz Award

    Ernesto Canalis, M.D.

    St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center
    Hartford, CT, USA

    The Lawrence G. Raisz Award recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding acheivements in preclinical and translational research (cellular or in animals).

    Shirley Hohl Distinguished Service Award

    Janine Danks, Ph.D.

    School of Medical Sciences, RMIT University
    Bundoora, VIC, Australia

    The Shirley Hohl Service Award is given to an individual whose activities best represent the dedicated and unselfish devotion in service to the Society and its mission and goals. This award is given to an individual who is recognized by members of the Society as having made significant contributions to the mission of the ASBMR.

    Paula Stern Achievement Award  

    Theresa Guise, M.D.

    Indiana University
    Indianapolis, IN, USA

    The ASBMR Paula Stern Achievement Award annually recognizes a woman in the bone field who has made significant scientific achievements and who has promoted the professional development/advancement of women in the field.

    Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award

    Robert Pignolo, M.D., Ph.D.

    University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, PA, USA

    The ASBMR Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes an individual in the early stage of his or her career (Assistant or early Associate Professor rank or equivalent level at a non-U.S. institution or in the clinical or private sector) who displays a strong commitment to teaching and learning in the classroom, the clinic and/or research laboratory setting.

    Young Investigator Awards


    The Young Investigator award recognizes young investigators who submit top-ranking abstracts to an ASBMR Meeting. Award recipients have received a $1,000 honorarium and a plaque, which was presented at the ASBMR 2012 Annual Meeting in Minneapolis.


    Congratulations to the 2012 award recipients!


    Kamil E. Barbour, Ph.D., MPH, MS, Center for Disease Control

    Shoshana M. Bartell, DVM, Ph.D., Central Arkansas VA Healthcare System, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences


    Abdullah Ben-Awadh, M.S., Indiana University School of Medicine

    Monique Bethel, M.D., Indiana University School of Medicine

    Annette Birkhold, Julius Wolff Institute, Charité Universitätsmedizin

    Åshild Bjørnerem, M.D., Ph.D., University of Tromsø

    Aaron M. Broege, Ph.D., University of Minnesota

    Debra A. Butt, M.D., M.Sc., CCFP, FCFP, University of Toronto

    Christian Buttazzoni, M.D., Skåne University Hospital Malmö, Lund University
    Julio Carballido-Gamio, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

    Jianquan Chen, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

    Sun Wook Cho, M.D., Ph.D., Seoul National University Hospital

    Joshua N. Farr, Ph.D., Mayo Clinic

    Shelby L. Francis, M.A., University of Iowa

    Matthew J. Grosso, B.S., Hospital For Special Surgery

    Christine Hamann, M.D., Dresden Technical University Medical Center

    Julia Hum, Indiana University School of Medicine

    Rachelle W. Johnson, Ph.D., St. Vincent's Institute of Medical Research

    Adriane M. Joo, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

    Petra Juffer, M.Sc. (Academic Centre for Dentistry Amsterdam (ACTA), University of Amsterdam and VU University Amsterdam, Research Institute MOVE


    Jirko Kühnisch, Dr. rer. nat., Charité – University Medicine of Berlin

    Changjun Li, M.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

    Shuxian Lin, B.D.S., Baylor College of Dentistry

    Thomas S. Lisse, Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital

    Zhaoyang Liu, M.S., University of Rochester Medical Center

    Alayna E. Loiselle, Ph.D., Penn State Hershey

    Mark B. Meyer, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

    Tone K. Omsland, Ph.D., University of Oslo

    Noriaki Ono, D.D.S., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

    Guodong Pan, Ph.D. Candidate, Georgia Health Science University

    Serk In Park, D.D.S., Ph.D., University of Michigan

    Vaishali B. Patel, M.D., The University of Kansas Medical Center

    David Pflanz, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

    Mari Sato, Ph.D., D.D.S., Kobe University

    Campbell R. Sheen, Ph.D., Sanford Burnham Medical Research Institute

    Benjamin Sinder, M.S.E., University of Michigan

    Shurei Sugita, M.D., University of Tokyo

    Ken-ichiro Tanaka, M.D., Shimane University School of Medicine

    Alexander Uihlein, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital

    Karmele Valencia Leoz, Ph.D. Student, Foundation for Applied Medical Research

    Nick van Gastel, K.U. Leuven

    Hongwei Wang, M.S, Ph.D., University of Chicago

    Simon Woehrle, Ph.D., Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

    Yu-Wei Wu, D.D.S., Ph.D., Tufts University

    Chang Yang, M.D., Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

    Elaine W. Yu, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital

    Bing Yu, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

    Jing Zhang, Ph.D. Candidate, Nanjing Medical University

    Yunpeng Zhao, M.D., New York University

    Xichao Zhou, Ph.D. Candidate, Nanjing Medical University

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details