• News

    ASBMR Members Awarded Prestigious NIH Awards

    Date: December 04, 2011

    Joy Y. Wu, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital, received a 2011 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. The award aims to stimulate cutting-edge research done by exceptional new investigators.  The program differs from traditional NIH grants in that it supports new investigators with innovative and creative research ideas, but who may lack the preliminary data required for an RO1.   Dr. Wu’s project is entitled “In vivo reconstitution of the hematopoietic niche.”

     Brendan HL Lee, M.D., Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine, received a 2011 Transformative Roadmap Award.   The primary objective of the Transformative R01 award is to create a program that is specifically designed to support exceptionally innovative, high risk, original and/or unconventional research with the potential to create new or challenge existing scientific paradigms. Dr.  Lee’s project is entitled “Argininosuccinate Lyase is an essential regulator of systemic nitric oxide production.”

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details