• News

    NIAMS Director Dr. Stephen Katz Receives the ASBMR “Distinguished Leadership Award”

    Date: March 05, 2014

    Last week, ASBMR hosted a special luncheon to honor National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Director Stephen Katz, M.D., Ph.D. with the presentation of the ASBMR Distinguished Leadership Award in recognition of his many years of leadership at NIH and as a supporter of bone and mineral research. Under the guidance of Dr. Katz, the Institute has directed hundreds of millions of dollars to the bone and mineral field, maintaining a consistent base of support in spite of many challenges. Equally important, Dr. Katz has accomplished this while serving all aspects of the NIAMS mission, which includes rheumatic and skin diseases as well the broader area of musculoskeletal biology and medicine. The award was originally to be presented at last October’s ASBMR 2013 Annual Meeting in Baltimore, but the U.S. government shutdown prevented Dr. Katz and his NIH colleagues from attending. Shown in this photo, from the left:  Lynda Bonewald, Ph.D., ASBMR Immediate Past President; Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., NIAMS Director; Steven Teitelbaum, M.D., former ASBMR President; Roberto Civitelli, M.D., ASBMR President. 

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details