• News

    ASBMR Announces 2015 Leadership Candidates and Committee Appointees

    Date: July 01, 2015

    ASBMR is pleased to announce the candidates for the 2015 ballot election and committee appointees.  President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer Elect and Councilor candidates will be placed on the ballot for membership vote in early July. Those elected to Officer and Councilor positions and those appointed to committee appointees will begin their terms immediately following the ASBMR 2015 Annual Meeting.



    • Jane Cauley, DrPH, University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health (USA)
    • Nancy Lane, M.D., University of California, Davis Medical Center (USA)

    Secretary-Treasurer Elect

    • Dan Bikle, M.D., Ph.D., University of California San Francisco & VA Medical Center (USA)
    • Tom Clemens, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University (USA)


    • Mary Bouxsein, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School (USA)
    • Hiroshi Kawaguchi, M.D., Ph.D., Japan Community Health Care Organization (JCHO), Tokyo Shinjuku Medical Center (Japan)
    • Suzanne Jan De Beur, M.D., Johns Hopkins University (USA)
    • Regis O’Keefe, M.D., Washington University in St. Louis (USA)
    • Rajesh Thakker, M.D., FRCP, University of Oxford (UK)
    • Johannes Van Leeuwen, Ph.D., Erasmus University Medical Center (The Netherlands)


    Advocacy and Science Policy Committee

    • Cyrus Cooper, D.M., FRCP, M.D., University of Southampton (UK)
    • Patricia Ducy, Ph.D., Columbia University (USA)
    • Mark Hamrick, Ph.D., Georgia Health Sciences University (USA)
    • Roy Morello, Ph.D., Univ of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (USA)
    • Babatunde Oyajobi, MBBS, Ph.D., University of Texas Health Science Center (USA)
    • Shivani Sahni, Ph.D., Hebrew SeniorLife & Harvard Medical School (USA)

    Development Committee 

    • Teresita Bellido, Ph.D., Indiana University School of Medicine (USA)
    • Christopher Kovacs, M.D., Memorial University of Newfoundland (Canada)
    • Emily Stein, M.D., Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons (USA)

    Ethics Advisory Committee

    • Chair: Elizabeth Shane, M.D., Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons (USA)
    • Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell, Ph.D., University of Rochester (USA)
    • Janine Danks, BSc, MSc, Ph.D., School of Medical Sciences, RMIT University (Australia)
    • Marian Hannan, DSc, MPH, HSL Institute for Aging Research and Harvard Medical School (USA)
    • Huifang (Linda) Lu, M.D., Ph.D., UT MD Anderson Cancer Center (USA)
    • Moustapha Kassem, M.D., Ph.D., Odense University Hospital (Denmark)
    • Thomas Weber, M.D., Duke University Medical Center (USA)

    Finance Committee

    • Emma Duncan, M.D., Ph.D., Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (Australia)
    • Beatrice Edwards, M.D., FACP, MD Anderson Cancer Center (USA)
    • Rene St-Arnaud, Ph.D., Shriners Hospital for Children & McGill University (Canada)

    Membership Engagement Committee

    • Susan Bloomfield, Ph.D., Texas A&M University (USA)
    • Claire Edwards, Ph.D., University of Oxford (UK)
    • Christa Maes, Ph.D., KU Leuven (Belgium)
    • Nicola Napoli, M.D., University Campus Bio-Medico di Roma (Italy)
    • Ernestina Schipani, M.D., Ph.D., University of Michigan (USA)

    Professional Practice Committee

    • Chair: Benjamin Leder, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School (USA)
    • Sarah Berry, M.D., Hebrew SeniorLife (USA)
    • Ghada El-Hajj Fuleihan, M.D., MPH, American University of Beirut-Medical Center (Lebanon)
    • Luisa Plantalech, M.D., Hospital Italiano De Buenos Aires (Argentina)
    • Catherine Van Poznak, M.D., University of Michigan (USA)
    • Peter Vestergaard, M.D., Ph.D., Aalborg University Hospital (Denmark)

    Publications Committee

    • Peggy Cawthon, Ph.D., MPH, San Francisco Coordinating Center (USA)
    • Doug DiGirolamo, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University (USA)
    • David Karasik, Ph.D., Hebrew SeniorLife/Bar Ilan University (USA)
    • Michael Mannstadt, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School (USA)
    • Markus Seibel, M.D., Ph.D., University of Sydney (Australia)

    Women in Bone and Mineral Research Committee

    • Chair: Roberta Faccio, Ph.D., Washington University in St Louis School of Medicine (USA)
    • Patricia Juarez Camacho, Ph.D., CICESE (Mexico)
    • Jenneke Klein-Nulend, Ph.D., ACTA-VU University Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
    • Kim Mansky, Ph.D., University of Minnesota (USA)
    • Barbara Obermayer-Pietsch, M.D., Medical University Graz (Austria)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details