• News

    2012 Esteemed Award Winners Announced

    Date: July 31, 2012


    ASBMR is pleased to announce this year's Esteemed Award Winners. All awards will be presented during the 2012 Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, October 12-15, 2012.

    William F. Neuman Award


    Sundeep Khosla, M.D.

    College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, MN, USA

    The William F. Neuman Award recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding and major scientific contributions in the area of bone and mineral research and for contributions to associates and trainees in teaching, research, and administration.

    Louis V. Avioli Award

    J. Wesley Pike, Ph.D.

    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Madison, WI, USA

    The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research.

    Frederic C. Bartter Award

    Michael Econs, M.D.

    Indiana University School of Medicine
    Indianapolis, IN, USA

    The Frederic C. Bartter Award is given to an ASBMR member in recognition of outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism.

    Fuller Albright Award

    Laura Calvi, M.D.

    University of Rochester School of Medicine
    Rochester, NY, USA

    The Fuller Albright Award is given in recognition of meritorious scientific accomplishment in the bone and mineral field to an ASBMR member who has not yet reached his or her 45th birthday before July 1 of the year the award is presented.

    Gideon A. Rodan Award


    Steven Teitelbaum, M.D.

    Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, MO, USA

    The Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award is given in recognition of outstanding support provided by a senior scientist who has helped promote the independent careers of young investigators in bone and mineral metabolism.

    Lawrence G. Raisz Award

    Ernesto Canalis, M.D.

    St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center
    Hartford, CT, USA

    The Lawrence G. Raisz Award recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding acheivements in preclinical and translational research (cellular or in animals).

    Shirley Hohl Distinguished Service Award

    Janine Danks, Ph.D.

    School of Medical Sciences, RMIT University
    Bundoora, VIC, Australia

    The Shirley Hohl Service Award is given to an individual whose activities best represent the dedicated and unselfish devotion in service to the Society and its mission and goals. This award is given to an individual who is recognized by members of the Society as having made significant contributions to the mission of the ASBMR.

    Paula Stern Achievement Award  

    Theresa Guise, M.D.

    Indiana University
    Indianapolis, IN, USA

    The ASBMR Paula Stern Achievement Award annually recognizes a woman in the bone field who has made significant scientific achievements and who has promoted the professional development/advancement of women in the field.

    Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award

    Robert Pignolo, M.D., Ph.D.

    University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, PA, USA

    The ASBMR Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes an individual in the early stage of his or her career (Assistant or early Associate Professor rank or equivalent level at a non-U.S. institution or in the clinical or private sector) who displays a strong commitment to teaching and learning in the classroom, the clinic and/or research laboratory setting.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details