• News

    Forum on Aging and Skeletal Health: Setting a Research Agenda for the Future

    Date: April 12, 2011

    The ASBMR Forum on Aging and Skeletal Heath was held March 21-22, at the Natcher Conference Center on the NIH Campus in Bethesda, Maryland, USA.

    Over 270 leaders in research on the biology of aging came together at this meeting with those in the bone field to exchange cutting-edge concepts in aging research with ongoing and planned studies on the epidemiology, mechanisms, and prevention/treatment of age-related bone loss and fractures. 

    Session Chairs, speakers and representatives from the National Institutes of Health met afterward to discuss what was learned and identify key questions to be addressed in future research.

    ASBMR was pleased to present 24 Young Investigator Awards to support young investigators and encourage them to attend meetings such as this one, as they are critical to the future growth of the field.

    Young Investigators

    2011 Forum on Aging and Skeletal Health
    Young Investigator Award Recipients

    Sarah K. Amugongo, Ph.D., University of California, Davis Medical Center
    Dennis E. Anderson, Ph.D., Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Shilpa N. Bhupathiraju, Ph.D., Tufts University
    Bjoern Buehring, M.D., Cleveland Clinic
    Luciane P. Capelo, Ph.D., Harvard School of Dental Medicine
    Gregory Chang, M.D., NYU Langone Medical Center
    Yan Epelboym, M.P.H., Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellow
    Yurong Fei, Ph.D.(c), University of Connecticut Health Center
    Shuo Geng, B.S., Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Isabelle Germain, Ph.D.(c), M.Sc., R.D., McGill University
    Lijie Grace Zhang, Ph.D., George Washington University
    Min Guan, Ph.D., University of California, Davis Medical Center
    Tamer M. Hadi, M.S., Virginia Commonwealth University
    Naomi A. Hampson, Ph.D.(c), Drexel University
    Zachariah Hubbell, M.A., The Ohio State University
    Stefan Jackowski, M.Sc., University of Saskatchewan
    X. Sherry Liu, Ph.D., Columbia University
    Sara Mantila Roosa, Ph.D., Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
    Katherine Motyl, Ph.D., Maine Medical Center Research Institute
    Regina O'Sullivan, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Nahid Rianon, M.D., Dr.P.H., The University of Texas Medical School at Houston
    Vanessa Sherk, M.S., University of Oklahoma
    Deeptha Sukumar, M.S., Rutgers University
    Laura Yerges-Armstrong, Ph.D., University of Maryland

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details