• News

    Congratulations to Paula Stern, Ph.D., Recipient of the 2015 Louis V. Avioli Founders Award

    Date: August 05, 2015

    Dr. Stern

    The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award is given in recognition of a member who has made fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research. The 2015 Louis V. Avioli Founders Award will be presented to Paula Stern, Ph.D., at the ASBMR 2015 Annual Meeting on Sunday, October 11, 2015.

    Dr. Stern is Professor of Pharmacology at Northwestern University.  She received her Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the University of Michigan and was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Rochester in the laboratory of Dr. Lawrence Raisz. Her research encompasses effects of hormones and pharmacological agents on bone, including studies on vitamin D metabolites and analogs, thyroid and parathyroid hormones, immunosuppressive agents, and endothelins.  She has investigated hormone and cytokine mediated signal transduction in bone cells and sex differences in gene responses.  She served as the 6th President of ASBMR (1984-1985) and is a previous recipient of the Shirley Hohl Service Award.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details