• News

    This Year’s Louis V. Avioli Award Recipient

    Date: August 21, 2012

    This year’s Louis V. Avioli Award winner is J. Wesley Pike, Ph.D. The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research.

    After obtaining B.S. and M.S degrees in Biology at Oregon State University in Corvallis in the early 1970s, Dr. Pike received a Ph.D. in Biochemistry in 1979 from the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Following several additional years in Tucson, he moved to Baylor College of Medicine in Houston in 1986 where he became an Associate Professor of Cell Biology. In 1991, he became Head of Biochemistry at Ligand Pharmaceuticals, Inc.  In 1996, he returned to academics and, in 2001, moved to the University of Wisconsin-Madison where he is currently a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry.            

    Dr. Pike, along with other Esteemed Award winners, will participate in the Leadership Forum: Conversations with Esteemed Award Winners that will take place at the ASBMR Annual Meeting and will provide insight into the careers and lessons learned of the awardees. 

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details