• News

    This Year’s Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award Recipient

    Date: September 04, 2012

    This year’s Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award Recipient is Steven Teitelbaum, M.D. The Gideon A. Rodan Excellence in Mentorship Award is given in recognition of outstanding support provided by a senior scientist who has helped promote the independent careers of young investigators in bone and mineral metabolism.

    Dr. Steven Teitelbaum is the Wilma and Roswell Messing Professor of Pathology and Immunology and Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine where he is a member of the Division of Bone and Mineral Diseases. He was introduced to the field of bone and mineral research by his mentor, Louis Avioli, one of the founders of ASBMR. Teitelbaum served as President of the ASBMR and of the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology (FASEB). He participated in efforts which led to the doubling of the NIH budget and liberalizing stem cell research in the state of Missouri. Teitelbaum has trained more than 70 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows, many of whom have become leaders in bone and mineral research and hold distinguished academic and industrial positions. His research focuses on the osteoclast.

    Dr. Teitelbaum, along with other Esteemed Award winners, will participate in the Leadership Forum: Conversations with Esteemed Award Winners that will take place at the ASBMR 2012 Annual Meeting and will provide insight into the careers and lessons learned of the awardees. 


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details