• News

    ASBMR Congratulates the 2014 Junior Faculty Osteoporosis Research Awardees, Blaine Christiansen, Ph.D., and Anne Schafer, M.D.

    Date: October 08, 2014

    The Junior Faculty Osteoporosis Research Award is intended to foster the academic potential and careers of bone and mineral faculty members, clinical and basic research investigators; stimulate the academic growth of the applicant’s department; and promote research related to osteoporosis. Two awards are given: one in osteoporosis-related clinical and one in osteoporosis-related basic research. These awards are supported by educational donations from Amgen, Inc., and Merck & Co., Inc. ASBMR congratulates this year’s awardees:

    The 2014 Basic Research Awardee is Blaine Christiansen, Ph.D, Lawrence J. Ellison Musculoskeletal Research Center in California, USA, for “Systemic Bone Loss Following Fracture: A Mechanism for Increased Fracture Risk.”

    The 2014 Clinical Research Awardee is Anne Schafer, M.D., University of California, San Francisco, in California, USA, for “Diabetes, Bone Marrow Fat, and Bone Mineral Density after Bariatric Surgery.” 

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details