Skip to main content
  • Early Career Clinical Investigator Award honoring Robert Marcus, M.D.

    This Esteemed Award will be given in recognition of meritorious clinical research in the bone, mineral and musculoskeletal field.  It will recognize annually an ASBMR member conducting clinical research who has completed their professional degree, residency training, fellowship or equivalent (whichever is later) within the past 15 years. The Award will include a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    A luminary in the Bone, Mineral and Musculoskeletal field, Robert A. Marcus, M.D. has published over 30 manuscripts in the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, and has presented numerous abstracts at the ASBMR Annual Meetings. He has published more than 150 peer-reviewed manuscripts in the bone and mineral field, focusing on clinical research.

    While at Stanford University, Dr. Marcus led seminal studies on the effect of hormone therapy on bone density (i.e., the PEPI trial, published in JAMA in 1996), the effects of exercise and resistance training on bone health, effects of recombinant human growth hormone on bone and body composition, and the contribution of testosterone to skeletal development by examining Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome.

    Dr. Marcus joined Eli Lilly as Senior Medical Director, leading the launch of Forteo and authoring several manuscripts on the effects of teriparatide on the bone density, microarchitecture and fracture risk. Importantly he was senior author on the head-to-head comparison of alendronate and teriparatide for glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis (NEJM, 2007). Moreover, he authored over 40 reviews and book chapters, and was the first Editor of “Osteoporosis” (aka “Big Red”) — without a doubt, the definitive book on osteoporosis, first published in 1996 with the 5th edition recently published. Countless graduate students and fellows have used this text as an introduction and guide to the field.

    In addition to these exemplary contributions to scholarship in the field of bone and mineral research, Dr. Marcus has served the ASBMR in many notable ways, including: 1) ASBMR Council (1995-98); 2) ASBMR President-Elect, President, Past-President: (2000-2002); 3) Publications Committee member (1986-1995); 4) Chair, Publications Committee (1995-1999); 5) JBMR® Editorial Board member, 3 rotations 1995-2014; 6) Science Policy Committee member (2006-8); 7) JBMR® manuscript reviewer, forever and 8) ASBMR Annual Meeting abstract reviewer (1978-2000).

    Past Awardees

    Elaine Yu, M.D., 2023

    2023 Robert Marcus Awardee Profile

    Elaine Yu, M.D.

    Elaine Yu M.D.

    “What an incredible and unexpected honor to be receiving this inaugural award in honor of Dr. Robert Marcus, MD! Dr. Marcus is a legendary clinical investigator whose contributions to the bone and mineral metabolism field span decades of clinical research and mentorship of the next generation of bone investigators. His career is an inspiration and it’s an honor for me to receive this clinical investigation award. I am particularly indebted to my mentors and colleagues who have taught and supported me, and I would like to thank Drs. Joel Finkelstein, Michael Mannstadt, Hank Kronenberg, Joy Wu, Bart Clarke, and the ASBMR Women’s Committee for supporting this nomination, as well as to provide my gratitude to Drs. Mary Bouxsein and Doug Bauer. I owe a heart-felt thanks to my research group and many collaborators for their dedication, friendship, and commitment to the science! Lastly, I want to thank my parents, my husband Jon and two sons Colin & Ethan for their unwavering support, hugs and love.” ~ Elaine Yu, M.D.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details