Skip to main content
  • Frederic C. Bartter Award

    The Frederic C. Bartter Award is given to an ASBMR member in recognition of outstanding clinical investigation in disorders of bone and mineral metabolism. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a morning plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    Frederic C. Bartter, M.D., was one of the finest scientists and clinical investigators in academic medicine. In conjunction with Dr. Fuller Albright he developed cortisone treatment for congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and with Dr. William Schwartz described the syndrome of inappropriate ADII secretion. In addition, Dr. Bartter elucidated the role of aldosterone and contributed significantly to the study of hyperparathyroidism. From 1951 to 1978 he served as Chief of the NIH Endocrine-Hypertension Branch, and then became Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Veterans Administration Medical Center and Professor at the University of Texas.

    Past Awardees

    Bente Langdahl, M.D., Ph.D., 2023

    Benjamin Leder, M.D., 2022

    Karl Insogna, M.D., 2021

    Felicia Cosman, M.D., 2020

    Douglas Kiel, M.D., 2019

    Michael A. Levine, M.D., 2018

    Dennis M. Black, Ph.D. 2017

    Eric Orwoll, M.D. 2016

    Socrates Papapoulos, M.D. 2015

    Richard Eastell, M.D., FRCP 2014

    Elizabeth Shane, M.D. 2013

    Michael Econs, M.D. 2012

    Jane Cauley, Ph.D. 2011

    Ian Reid, M.D., MBChB 2010

    Juliet Compston, M.D., FRCP 2009

    Steven Cummings, M.D., FACP 2008

    Michael P. Whyte, M.D. 2007

    Sundeep Khosla, M.D. 2006

    John Kanis, M.D. 2005

    Pierre Delmas, M.D., Ph.D. 2004

    Robert Recker, M.D. 2003

    Ego Seeman, M.D., F.R.A.C.P. 2002

    Joseph Melton, III, M.D. 2001

    John P. Bilezikian, M.D. 2000

    Pierre Meunier, M.D. 1999

    B.E. Christopher Nordin, M.D., Ph.D. 1998

    Robert Lindsay, MBChB, Ph.D. 1997

    Conrad Johnston, Jr., M.D. 1996

    Michael Parfitt, M.D. 1995

    Robert P. Heaney, M.D. 1994

    Francis H. Glorieux, M.D., Ph.D. 1993

    Norman H. Bell, M.D. 1992

    Eduardo Slatopolsky, M.D. 1991

    Lawrence Riggs, M.D. 1990

    Arthur E. Broadus, M.D., Ph.D. 1989

    Charles Y.C. Pak, M.D. 1988

    Constantine Anast, M.D. 1987

    Jack Coburn, M.D. 1986

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details