Skip to main content
  • Adele L. Boskey Award

    The Adele L Boskey Esteemed Award for Bone and Mineral Research recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding and major scientific contributions, leadership and mentorship in the area of bone and mineral research especially in the areas of mechanisms of mineralization, bone mineral, bone quality, and mechanobiology. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a plenary session at the Annual Meeting. 

    Dr. Boskey was a pioneer and strong advocate for understanding the process by which mineralized tissues such as bone and teeth incorporate calcium and phosphate into their matrices, how the matrices are involved in that process, and the role of the biomineral in bone disease.  To quote the New York Times and the Hospital for Special Surgery, she was a “trail-blazer” in understanding the mechanisms responsible for bone mineralization. She continuously applied new technologies revealing deeper insight into the mineral properties of the bone in musculoskeletal disease. Her characterization of the properties of the mineral compartment, the mechanisms of biomineralization and the crystal defects that related to the compromised quality of genetic and acquired bone disorders, were paradigm shifting discoveries.Throughout her career devoted to unraveling the mechanisms responsible for biomineralization, Dr. Boskey’s passion was promoting the careers of young investigators, especially female investigators and the mentoring of clinician investigators. She is responsible for the successful careers of hundreds of investigators whose research programs are focused on the physiological mineral phase of tissues and pathological calcification. 

    Past Awardees

    Dobrawa Napierala, Ph.D., 2023

    Edward Guo, Ph.D., 2022

    Mary Bouxsein, Ph.D., 2021

    Tamara Alliston, Ph.D., 2020

    Marc McKee, Ph.D., 2019

    Marjolein van der Meulen, Ph.D., 2018

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details