Skip to main content
  • Paula Stern Achievement Award

    The ASBMR Paula Stern Achievement Award annually recognizes a woman in the bone field who has made significant scientific achievements and who has promoted the professional development/advancement of women in the field. Dr. Stern is a leader in the field of bone and mineral research. Her contributions include the first bioassay for 1,25 dihydroxy vitamin D, studies on the effects of thyroid hormone on bone metabolism, and most recently studies on alternative signal transduction pathways for parathyroid hormone. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a morning plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    Paula Stern was the first female President of ASBMR, a founding member of the National Osteoporosis Foundation, and has served ASBMR as a volunteer leader in numerous capacities, including most recently as the chair of the Science Policy Committee and ASBMR representative to the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Board.

    Past Awardees

    Lilian Plotkin, Ph.D., 2023

    Anna Teti, Ph.D., 2022

    Sherri-Ann Burnett-Bowie, M.D., M.P.H., 2021

    Natalie Sims, Ph.D., 2020

    Ernestina Schipani, M.D., Ph.D., 2019

    Elizabeth Shane, M.D., 2018

    Alberta M. Zallone, Ph.D. 2017

    Merry Jo Oursler, Ph.D. 2016

    Teresita Bellido, Ph.D. 2015

    Jillian Cornish, Ph.D. 2014

    Nancy Lane, M.D. 2013

    Theresa Guise, M.D. 2012

    Marie Demay, M.D. 2011

    Laurie McCauley, D.D.S., Ph.D. 2010

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details