Skip to main content
  • Louis V. Avioli Founders Award

    The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award was first presented at the 2000 ASBMR Annual Meeting in Toronto, Canada. This award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research. There is also a memorial lecture named in his honor at the ASBMR Annual Meeting. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented after the Louis V. Avioli Memorial Lecture at the Annual Meeting.

    Louis V. Avioli, M.D., ASBMR's first President, was one of the world's leading medical authorities on osteoporosis and calcium metabolism. He pioneered research into the skeleton and methods for detecting vitamin D in the blood, and identified bone loss as a potentially curable condition. Louis Avioli was a founding member of ASBMR. His research, like his commitment to the ASBMR, mentorship and friendship, has had a profound impact on the field. There is also a memorial lecture named in Louis Avioli's honor at the ASBMR Annual Meeting.

    Past Awardees

    Fanxin Long, Ph.D., 2023

    René St-Arnaud, Ph.D., 2022

    Moustapha Kassem, M.D., Ph.D., 2020

    Pamela Robey, Ph.D., 2019

    Nicola C. Partridge, Ph.D., 2018

    Subburaman Mohan, Ph.D. 2017

    Daniel Bikle, M.D., Ph.D. 2016

    Paula Stern, Ph.D. 2015

    Michael Holick, M.D., Ph.D. 2014

    Thomas Clemens, Ph.D. 2013

    Wesley Pike, Ph.D. 2012

    Roberto Pacifici, M.D. 2011

    Pierre Marie, Ph.D. 2010

    Rajesh Thakker, M.D., FRCP 2009

    Rajiv Kumar, M.D. 2008

    David Roodman, M.D., Ph.D. 2007

    Andrew Arnold, M.D. 2006

    Gino Segre, M.D. 2005

    Ernesto Canalis, M.D. 2004

    Edward Brown, M.D. 2003

    Roland Baron, D.D.S., Ph.D. 2002

    Gerard Karsenty, M.D., Ph.D. 2001

    Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D. 2000

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details