Skip to main content
  • William F. Neuman Award

    The William F. Neuman Award recognizes an ASBMR member for outstanding and major scientific contributions in the area of bone and mineral research and for contributions to associates and trainees in teaching, research, and administration. The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a plaque which is presented at a morning plenary session at the Annual Meeting.

    William F. Neuman, Ph.D., was a world-renowned scientist in the field of mineral metabolism. His seminal work on bone-seeking isotopes as part of the Manhattan Project was followed by major works in the chemistry of mineral and matrix, the function of bone cells, the metabolism of parathyroid hormone, and the concept of bone membrane. Dr. Neuman, along with his wife Margaret, authored the seminal monograph "The Chemical Dynamics of Bone Mineral" in 1958. He and his associates formed the Department of Radiation Biology and Biophysics at Rochester, where he served as co-chair and then chairman

    Past Awardees

    Richard Eastell, M.D., 2023

    Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D., 2022

    Steven Cummings, M.D., 2021

    John Bilezikian, M.D., 2020

    Juliet Compston, M.D., 2019

    Vicki Rosen, Ph.D., 2018

    Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D. 2017

    Clifford Rosen, M.D. 2016

    Lynda F. Bonewald, Ph.D. 2015

    Francis Glorieux, M.D., Ph.D. 2014

    John Eisman, MBBS, Ph.D. 2013

    Sundeep Khosla, M.D. 2012

    Gerard Karsenty, M.D., Ph.D. 2011

    Michael Parfitt, M.D. 2010

    Roland Baron, DDS, Ph.D. 2009

    David Baylink, M.D. 2008

    Lance E. Lanyon, Ph.D., BVSc 2007

    Jane Lian, Ph.D., and Gary Stein, Ph.D. 2006

    Mark R. Haussler, Ph.D. 2005

    Jane E. Aubin, Ph.D. 2004

    Henry Kronenberg, M.D. 2003

    Lawrence Riggs, M.D. 2002

    Harold M. Frost, M.D. 2001

    Graham Russell, M.D. 2000

    Gregory R. Mundy, M.D. 1999

    Steven L. Teitelbaum, M.D. 1998

    Tatsuo Suda, D.D.Sc., Ph.D. 1997

    Melvin Jacob Glimcher, M.D. 1996

    Anthony W. Norman, Ph.D. 1995

    Thomas John Martin, M.D., D.Sc. 1994

    Gideon A. Rodan, M.D., Ph.D. 1993

    Herbert A. Fleisch, M.D. 1992

    Claude D. Arnaud, M.D. 1991

    Robert H. Wasserman, Ph.D. 1990

    Stephen M. Krane, M.D. 1989

    Louis V. Avioli, M.D. 1988

    John T. Potts, Jr., M.D. 1987

    Lawrence G. Raisz, M.D. 1986

    Hector F. DeLuca, Ph.D. 1985

    Roy V. Talmage, Ph.D. 1984

    Harold Copp, M.D., Ph.D. 1983

    Paul L. Munson, Ph.D. 1982

    Gerald D. Aurbach, M.D. 1981

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Policies and Procedures for more details